Avoid Duplicates

Updated 3 months ago ​by Sanne Stevens

How does this work? When Avoid Duplicates is enabled in the dashboard, PieSync only syncs contacts that have an email address. The email address is the field we match your contacts on between your two databases/apps. 

OPTIONAL - ENABLED 

When enabled, what happens during the initial sync?

  • When you have a contact in both applications prior to the sync with matching email address, these will stay in sync once your sync is active. 
  • The sync or 'binding' we establish during the initial sync will stay in place from then on. When you change the email address after, it will change on the other side as well (depending on the direction of your sync of course). 

When enabled, what happens once the sync is active?

  • When you add a contact without an email address on one side of the sync, it won't be added to the other app.
  • When you add a contact with an email address, it will be added to the other app and a sync is established between the contact in both apps. 
OPTIONAL - DISABLED

When disabled, what happens during the initial sync?                                                                                     

  • When you have a contact in both applications prior to the sync with no email address, the contact will be detected as a newly created contact in both apps, since there's nothing (email) to match it on. This can result in the contact duplicating on both sides of the sync (in a two-way sync).

When disabled, what happens once the sync is active?                                                                                    

  • When you add a contact without an email address on one side of the sync, it will still be added to the other app. However, when the contact already exists on the other side, it will be duplicated there. No sync or 'binding' will be established without a matching email address, so any changes you make to the contact won't be reflected in the other app.                                                                       
  • When you add a contact with an email address, it will be added to the other app and a sync is established between the contact in both apps.

When is disabling recommended?                                                                                                                                             

  • When you're unsure, please reach out via support@piesync.com and explain your particular use-case. We can confirm if disablement is a good idea or if it will result in duplicates.                                                                                                                                           
  • When setting up a one-way sync (e.g. A→B) to run an export/import of your contacts, with an empty database in the app you're syncing to (B), no problems should arise. 
MANDATORY - ENABLED BY DEFAULT

Some connections have this enabled by default. Can I have this disabled?                                                                    

  • This feature can't be manually enabled or disabled in all connections. In some cases, this feature is mandatory and enabled by default.
  • When keeping all the above information in mind, you still wish to disable this feature, just give us a shout at support@piesync.com. Don't worry, we will always advise on how best to proceed if we think it will result in duplicates.  
 


How did we do?